Home Latest News Student Transportation Inc. Employees Honored for Their Safety Track Record
Student Transportation Inc. Employees Honored for Their Safety Track Record PDF Print E-mail
Written by Sylvia Arroyo   
Tuesday, 03 December 2013 15:03

Thirteen employees were recognized by their managers as the best in their functional areas within the company when it comes to safety, and were the first group to be inducted into STI’s Wall of Fame at an awards dinner held in mid-November.

Don Weir, director of passenger safety and compliance for the third-largest provider of school bus transportation services, said top STI officials wanted to put these employees in the spotlight for doing an exceptional job, some for more than 40 years.

“Safety is the most important part of our business,” he added.

Some of the criteria for the safety-based recognition included exemplary safety practices within their role; accident-free service; community service and involvement; reliability and knowledge of company policies and procedures; perfect attendance; good character and attitude; and exceptional performance in their role.

Employees inducted into STI’s Safety Wall of Fame are:

  • Stella Beleckis - Parsonsfield, Maine

  • Jennifer Boulanger - Naugatuck, Conn.
  • Bob Corso - Punxsutawney, Penn.

  • Jane Durning - Chariho, R.I.

  • Christine Giza - Lannon, Wis.

  • Cheryl Hart - Danbury, Conn.
  • Les Johnson - Santa Maria, Calif.

  • Jim Leavens - Punxsutawney, Penn.

  • Ruth McAnally - Terrell, Texas

  • Pat Sanvido - Breslau, Ontario

  • James Tamburo - Trenton, N.J.

  • Bob Hall (recognized posthumously) - Lockport, N.Y.

  • Vern Hawken (recognized posthumously) - Peterborough, Ontario

The employees met with Weir and other members of the company’s senior leadership team, and received gifts and a personalized plaque at the awards dinner.

Managers and general managers nominated employees who have gone above and beyond their duties in terms of safety at the STI’s 130-plus locations throughout the United States and Canada. A selection committee evaluated all nominees and determined the final recipients from each region. 

Like this? Tweet it to your followers!
blog comments powered by Disqus

Last Updated on Friday, 20 December 2013 16:30