Home Latest News New York School Bus Contractors Association Lauds Top Performing Drivers
New York School Bus Contractors Association Lauds Top Performing Drivers PDF Print E-mail
Written by Michelle Fisher   
Wednesday, 28 May 2014 08:44

The NYSBCA offered congratulations to the winners of this year’s New York School Bus Contractors Association School Bus Safety Competition, which took place May 17 at the Rockland Lake State Park in Valley Cottage, N.Y.

The competition drew a record 130-plus school bus drivers from across the state. It kicked off with a written exam on school bus safety and continued through the afternoon as drivers put their skills to the test in various hands-on situations, from vehicle inspection, to loading and unloading students, to turning and stopping, railroad crossings and more.

The winners of this competition, listed below, can now choose to participate in the New York Association for Pupil Transportation (NYAPT) Safety Competition in Albany, N.Y., on July 12 or the National School Transportation Association (NSTA) International School Bus Safety Competition in Charleston, S.C. on July 19 and 20.

A handful of school bus companies saw more than one driver place in the skills competition, including Acme/Baumann, First Student/Valley Central/Wallkill, Suffolk Transportation and We Transport/Towne Bus Corp. One driver, Ellie Diaz of We Transport/Towne Bus (pictured above, at left), won first place in the Type D category as well as Rookie of the Year.

Small Bus/Van (Type A)

1st – John Moore, Suffolk Transportation
2nd – Peter Hlywa, Acme/Baumann
3rd – Susan Miller, Suffolk Transportation
4th – Manny Beltran, Croton Harmon UFSD
5th – Howard Baron, Acme/Baumann

Conventional Bus (Type C)

1st – Raymond Defiore, Clarkstown School District
2nd – Rafael Solorzano, Acme/Baumann
3rd – Michael Murray, First Student/Valley Central/Wallkill
4th – Michael Bertrand, First Student/Valley Central/Wallkill
5th – Carolyn Cliffore, We Transport/Towne Bus Corp.

Type D Bus

1st – Ellie Diaz, We Transport/Towne Bus Corp.
2nd – Bill Vivian, First Student, Rochester
3rd – Daniel Farley, Quality Bus
4th – David Kirkup, Educational Bus, Lamar St.
5th – Jose Torres, We Transport/Towne Bus Corp.

Rookie of the Year

Ellie Diaz, We Transport/Towne Bus Corp.

Like this? Tweet it to your followers!
blog comments powered by Disqus

Last Updated on Wednesday, 28 May 2014 09:18